Adventures in Modifying a J. Crew Sophia Silk Tricotine Gown – Part 2

Yesterday I repeated the deconstruction on the smaller sized gown.  I learned a few of things:

  1. It’s best to purchase a newer gown in great condition because the seams of the smaller gown were more frayed than the larger gown.  I guess there’s no way to know that with eBay except by asking or by looking at the pics.
  2. This gown irons very well; today I ironed it inside out on the silk setting with no pillow case between and it did fine
  3. I really like the fabric
  4. I really like the yoke on the gown and am leaning toward keeping it
  5. My favorite shoes match this gown…now if only I could walk in them
  6. A larger size makes for a loser fitting top – you’d think this would be obvious to me, but I don’t think I fully thought this through – do I like the tighter or loser fit?  Using the larger gown and altering it down to fit will allow for more substantial/sturdy seams (at the shoulders anyways)…another fairly important plus.  I may take pics in both sizes and review them in order to give myself a more objective view since cameras tell less lies than eyes.
  7. Being more visionary than seamstress, I need to determine if I will need to deconstruct the entire bodice in order to remove the surplice – probably yes

Another treat – a sketch of the finished vision:

Sketch of Vision

Sketch of Vision

Tags: , , , , , , ,

2 Responses to “Adventures in Modifying a J. Crew Sophia Silk Tricotine Gown – Part 2”

  1. Allison Says:

    the gown is pretty! you’re brave for doing-it-yourself. I’m just going to modify mine by adding an ivory satin sash with light beading. can’t wait to see the final product!

  2. LMD Says:

    I found your blog when looking to see if anyone else had modified their Sophia! I wore the dress at my wedding in May 08 and just yesterday was looking at our pictures while unpacking after a move. I love what you’re doing–your sketch is gorgeous! My modification was pretty simple–just added Alencon lace to the existing waistband–but I loved the results. And this dress felt seriously wonderful on my wedding day–so swingy, cool, comfortable, and elegant. Good luck and congrats!

Leave a Reply

