Adventures in Modifying a J. Crew Sophia Silk Tricotine Gown – Part 8

The other day I found some J. Crew shoes that, in the Pale Gold color, would go with the modified gown well.  They are called Paige Metallic Braided Flat Sandals and are on “sale” now at jcrew.com.

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , ,

3 Responses to “Adventures in Modifying a J. Crew Sophia Silk Tricotine Gown – Part 8”

  1. Allison Says:

    I found your site while I was searching for others who would be wearing this dress. Thanks for sharing your journey!

    p.s. What do you think about the see-through-ness of the dress? I bought two dresses to determine which size fit better, but I found that one of them seemed “thinner” than the other. Are you going to sew additional lining inside of your dress?

    • modifiedbride Says:

      Thanks, Allison! In response to your questions…I think the see-through-ness of the Sophia is confined to the surplice (crossover) sections. Since I’ve removed the surplice from both the back and the front, I’m not seeing the issues the original gown seemed to have. I love the fabric and think it is perfect in feel and weight. I’m not currently planning on adding additional lining, however I’m still contemplating adding some lining for the new cap sleeves.

  2. Allison Says:

    Thanks for your feedback… it is more noticeable on the top, less on the bottom. I may have the tailor (male seamstress?) add some lining to the top area. I was planning on wearing a half slip, so that should take care of the bottom. Again, I’m looking forward to your progress!

Leave a Reply

